LINEA

The Summer Exhibition at Vytlacil

by LINEA STAFF | July 8, 2016

The Elizabeth V. Sullivan Gallery at Vytlacil is pleased to present its second Summer Exhibition, featuring works from artists in the Hudson Valley and New York City. Charis J. Carmichael Braun, the League Residency at Vyt’s own Caretaker and Director of Communications, curated this exhibition, selecting artwork through a lens of colorful diversity, ambitious energy, and beautiful disintegration. The exhibition is both a celebration and subtle swan song for the Art Students League’s residency program at Vytlacil. The exhibition includes works by local Hudson Valley luminaries, emerging New York artists, and Vytlacil alumni, including John Belardo[1], Michele Bourdeau, Heather Douglas[2], Julie Eisenberg Pitman[3], Janet Howard Fatta[4], Debra Friedkin[5], Gaia Grossi[6], Carole Halle[7], Gaelyn Haun[8], David Hietpas, Victoria Hibbs[9], Tricia Justin[10], Vladimir Kezerashvili[11], Renee Khatami[12], Anki King[13], Evan Kitson[14], Pamela Koehler, Olivia Korringa[15], Sassoon Kosian[16], Suellen Lash, Cecilia Lotse, Hilary McCarthy[17], Yoko Komori Olson[18], Laurie Peek[19], Krystyna Printup[20], William Rauschenberg, Lauren Amalia Redding[21], Stephanie Reiter[22], Nadine Renazile[23], Steven Tracy Ross[24], Elizabeth Rundquist[25], Hiba Schahbaz[26], Edward Schmidt[27], Rachel Lulov Segall[28], Ekaterina Smirnova[29], Lynn Stein[30], Fortuna Szpiro[31], Cheryl Wheat[32], Andrea Williams[33], Ekaterina Vanovskaya[34], and Rachel Van Wylen[35].

William Doebele, Lady Behind Red Curtain, 2013.
Oil on wood, 6 x 6 in.

Esteban Del Valle, We Can Create, 2016.
8 color silkscreen print, ed. 14/40, 14½ x 18¾ in.

Stephanie Reiter, The Road Less Traveled, 2016. Oil on board, 5 x 7 in.

John Belardo, Manumission, 2013. Terra cotta, 24 x 20 x 24 in.

Julie Eisenberg Pitman, A Moment's Grace, 2016. Collage, paper, 24 x 32 in.

Heather Douglas, Trash Talk I, 2014. Encaustic mixed media, 10 x 10 in.

Gaia Grossi, Gentle Tension, 2016.
Aluminum, copper, rubber, wood, plastic, thread, 40 x 26 x 17 in.

Debra Friedkin, Angels Dancing on the Heads of Pins, 2015.
Sculpture, 9 x 10 x 8 in.

Gaelyn Haun, Beneath the Surface, 2016.
Acrylic on paper, 8 x 12 in.

Carole Halle, Unsettling Folds, 2016. Plaster, wood and steel, 10 x 11 x 11 in.

Victoria Hibbs, Safe Place, 2014–15.
Watercolor on matchboxes, 14 x 9 in.

Janet Howard-Fatta, Zinnias with Chickens, 2015. Oil on panel.

David Hietpas, Showtime, 2014. Oil on canvas, 36 x 44 in.

Tricia Justin, Amandla, 2014.
Bonded bronze, 12 x 10 x 12 in.

Renee Khatami, Gray and Green, 2016. Mixed media,15 x 15 in.

Vladimir Kezerashvili, Venice, 2015. Watercolor on paper, 11 x 15 in.

Evan Kitson, Untitled (3 Skulls), 2015. Conté crayon and charcoal on paper.

Anki King, Untitled 30, 2015. Mixed media on paper, 9½ x 9½ in.

Yoko Komori Olson, Four Seasons, 2014.
Japanese sumi ink and watercolor on Japanese rice paper pasted on canvas, 12 x 12 in.

Pamela Koehler, Cloister View, 2010. Egg tempera and gold leaf, 5½ x 7 in.

Sassoon Kosian, Divine Romance, 2015. Plastic, spray paint, 42 x 43 x 11 in.

Olivia Korringa, Breakfast by the Pool, 2006. Oil on linen, 24 x 33 in.

Cecilia Lotse, In the Cloud Forest, 2016.
Watercolor and gouache on paper, 12⅛ x 16⅛ in.

Suellen Lash, Bell-Ans Park, Outbuildings, 2015.
Acrylic on canvas, 48 x 38 in.

Hilary McCarthy, Surface , 2015. Oil on canvas, 18 x 18 in.

Laurie Peek, Pickett Fence on Pool Cover, Tappan, NY, 2012.
Digital pigment print, 1/5, 23 x 27 in.

Michele Bourdeau, Drunkensea, 2016.
Bonded bronze, 24 x 12 in.

Rachel Van Wylen, Giardino, 2015. Linocut, 11 x 11 in.

Krystyna Printup, After the Celebration, 2016.
Gouache on paper, 12 x 12 in.

Lauren Amalia Redding, After Emily Dickinson, 2015.
Drypoint etching on paper, edition of 14, 8 x 8 in.

William Rauschenberg, After Gas, 2016. Acrylic on balsa wood, 16 x 12½ in.

Steve Ross, Tracy, 2016. Watercolor, 11 x 15 in.

Nadine Renazile, Shape of Things to Come, 2016.
Mixed media on birch panel, 12 x 12 in.

Elizabeth Rundquist, Morning in the Woods. Oil on canvas, 16 x 20 in.

Edward Schmidt, Danae II, 2016. Sanguine & white chalk on prepared paper, 30 x 40 in.

Hiba Schahbaz, Room with a View, 2014.
Gouache and watercolor on wasli, 10 x 13 in.

Ekaterina Smirnova, LISA Pathfinder, 2016. Ceramic, 20 x 14 x 4 in.

Rachel Lulov Segall, Central Park Shadows. Acrylic on canvas, 30 x 36 in.

Fortuna Szpiro, Pink Tower.
Norwegian Rose Quartz, 21 x 7 x 7 in.

Lynn Stein, Chicken Being Held on a Tightrope, 2016.
Gouache on paper, 22 x 30 in.

Cheryl Wheat, Andantino, 2016.
Chalk on prepared rag paper, 36 x 24 in.

Ekaterina Vanovskaya, Untitled Pancakes M, 2015. Oil on linen, 48 x 60 in.

Andrea Williams, Circulation, 2015.
Dual block linocut, 1/10, 12 x 12 in.

1 of 43
The <i>Summer Exhibition</i> at Vytlacil
The <i>Summer Exhibition</i> at Vytlacil
The <i>Summer Exhibition</i> at Vytlacil
The <i>Summer Exhibition</i> at Vytlacil
The <i>Summer Exhibition</i> at Vytlacil
The <i>Summer Exhibition</i> at Vytlacil
The <i>Summer Exhibition</i> at Vytlacil
The <i>Summer Exhibition</i> at Vytlacil
The <i>Summer Exhibition</i> at Vytlacil
The <i>Summer Exhibition</i> at Vytlacil
The <i>Summer Exhibition</i> at Vytlacil
The <i>Summer Exhibition</i> at Vytlacil
The <i>Summer Exhibition</i> at Vytlacil
The <i>Summer Exhibition</i> at Vytlacil
The <i>Summer Exhibition</i> at Vytlacil
The <i>Summer Exhibition</i> at Vytlacil
The <i>Summer Exhibition</i> at Vytlacil
The <i>Summer Exhibition</i> at Vytlacil
The <i>Summer Exhibition</i> at Vytlacil
The <i>Summer Exhibition</i> at Vytlacil
The <i>Summer Exhibition</i> at Vytlacil
The <i>Summer Exhibition</i> at Vytlacil
The <i>Summer Exhibition</i> at Vytlacil
The <i>Summer Exhibition</i> at Vytlacil
The <i>Summer Exhibition</i> at Vytlacil
The <i>Summer Exhibition</i> at Vytlacil
The <i>Summer Exhibition</i> at Vytlacil
The <i>Summer Exhibition</i> at Vytlacil
The <i>Summer Exhibition</i> at Vytlacil
The <i>Summer Exhibition</i> at Vytlacil
The <i>Summer Exhibition</i> at Vytlacil
The <i>Summer Exhibition</i> at Vytlacil
The <i>Summer Exhibition</i> at Vytlacil
The <i>Summer Exhibition</i> at Vytlacil
The <i>Summer Exhibition</i> at Vytlacil
The <i>Summer Exhibition</i> at Vytlacil
The <i>Summer Exhibition</i> at Vytlacil
The <i>Summer Exhibition</i> at Vytlacil
The <i>Summer Exhibition</i> at Vytlacil
The <i>Summer Exhibition</i> at Vytlacil
The <i>Summer Exhibition</i> at Vytlacil
The <i>Summer Exhibition</i> at Vytlacil
The <i>Summer Exhibition</i> at Vytlacil

The exhibition opens July 16 and continues through September 18, 2016. Join us for the opening reception on Saturday, July 16, 2–5 p.m. at 241 Kings Highway, Orangeburg, NY either by taking public transportation via Rockland Coaches[36] 9, 9A, 9T, and 9TA to Sparkill, NY, from the George Washington Bridge Bus Station or the Port Authority Bus Terminal or by our limited, complimentary shuttle, which will run from 57th Street to the Vytlacil Campus. Email vytlacil@artstudentsleague.org[37] for reservations.

William Doebele, Lady Behind Red Curtain, 2013. Oil on wood, 6 x 6 in.
Esteban Del Valle, We Can Create, 2016. 8 color silkscreen print, ed. 14/40, 14½ x 18¾ in.
Stephanie Reiter, The Road Less Traveled, 2016. Oil on board, 5 x 7 in.
John Belardo, Manumission, 2013. Terra cotta, 24 x 20 x 24 in.
Julie Eisenberg Pitman, A Moment’s Grace, 2016. Collage, paper, 24 x 32 in.
Heather Douglas, Trash Talk I, 2014. Encaustic mixed media, 10 x 10 in.
Gaia Grossi, Gentle Tension, 2016. Aluminum, copper, rubber, wood, plastic, thread, 40 x 26 x 17 in.
Debra Friedkin, Angels Dancing on the Heads of Pins, 2015. Sculpture, 9 x 10 x 8 in.
Gaelyn Haun, Beneath the Surface, 2016. Acrylic on paper, 8 x 12 in.
Carole Halle, Unsettling Folds, 2016. Plaster, wood and steel, 10 x 11 x 11 in.
Victoria Hibbs, Safe Place, 2014–15. Watercolor on matchboxes, 14 x 9 in.
Janet Howard-Fatta, Zinnias with Chickens, 2015. Oil on panel.
David Hietpas, Showtime, 2014. Oil on canvas, 36 x 44 in.
Tricia Justin, Amandla, 2014. Bonded bronze, 12 x 10 x 12 in.
Renee Khatami, Gray and Green, 2016. Mixed media,15 x 15 in.
Vladimir Kezerashvili, Venice, 2015. Watercolor on paper, 11 x 15 in.
Evan Kitson, Untitled (3 Skulls), 2015. Conté crayon and charcoal on paper.
Anki King, Untitled 30, 2015. Mixed media on paper, 9½ x 9½ in.
Yoko Komori Olson, Four Seasons, 2014. Japanese sumi ink and watercolor on Japanese rice paper pasted on canvas, 12 x 12 in.
Pamela Koehler, Cloister View, 2010. Egg tempera and gold leaf, 5½ x 7 in.
Sassoon Kosian, Divine Romance, 2015. Plastic, spray paint, 42 x 43 x 11 in.
Olivia Korringa, Breakfast by the Pool, 2006. Oil on linen, 24 x 33 in.
Cecilia Lotse, In the Cloud Forest, 2016. Watercolor and gouache on paper, 12⅛ x 16⅛ in.
Suellen Lash, Bell-Ans Park, Outbuildings, 2015. Acrylic on canvas, 48 x 38 in.
Hilary McCarthy, Surface , 2015. Oil on canvas, 18 x 18 in.
Laurie Peek, Pickett Fence on Pool Cover, Tappan, NY, 2012. Digital pigment print, 1/5, 23 x 27 in.
Michele Bourdeau, Drunkensea, 2016. Bonded bronze, 24 x 12 in.
Rachel Van Wylen, Giardino, 2015. Linocut, 11 x 11 in.
Krystyna Printup, After the Celebration, 2016. Gouache on paper, 12 x 12 in.
Lauren Amalia Redding, After Emily Dickinson, 2015. Drypoint etching on paper, edition of 14, 8 x 8 in.
William Rauschenberg, After Gas, 2016. Acrylic on balsa wood, 16 x 12½ in.
Steve Ross, Tracy, 2016. Watercolor, 11 x 15 in.
Nadine Renazile, Shape of Things to Come, 2016. Mixed media on birch panel, 12 x 12 in.
Elizabeth Rundquist, Morning in the Woods. Oil on canvas, 16 x 20 in.
Edward Schmidt, Danae II, 2016. Sanguine & white chalk on prepared paper, 30 x 40 in.
Hiba Schahbaz, Room with a View, 2014. Gouache and watercolor on wasli, 10 x 13 in.
Ekaterina Smirnova, LISA Pathfinder, 2016. Ceramic, 20 x 14 x 4 in.
Rachel Lulov Segall, Central Park Shadows. Acrylic on canvas, 30 x 36 in.
Fortuna Szpiro, Pink Tower. Norwegian Rose Quartz, 21 x 7 x 7 in.
Lynn Stein, Chicken Being Held on a Tightrope, 2016. Gouache on paper, 22 x 30 in.
Cheryl Wheat, Andantino, 2016. Chalk on prepared rag paper, 36 x 24 in.
Ekaterina Vanovskaya, Untitled Pancakes M, 2015. Oil on linen, 48 x 60 in.
Andrea Williams, Circulation, 2015. Dual block linocut, 1/10, 12 x 12 in.
Endnotes:
  1. John Belardo: http://www.johnbelardo.com/
  2. Heather Douglas: http://heatherdouglas.com/
  3. Julie Eisenberg Pitman: http://julieeisenbergpitman.tumblr.com
  4. Janet Howard Fatta: http://www.jhowardstudios.com/
  5. Debra Friedkin: http://www.debrafriedkin.com/
  6. Gaia Grossi: http://www.gaiagrossi.com/
  7. Carole Halle: http://www.carolehalleart.com/
  8. Gaelyn Haun: http://www.gaelynhaun.com/
  9. Victoria Hibbs: http://www.victoriahibbs.com/
  10. Tricia Justin: http://www.triciajustin.com/
  11. Vladimir Kezerashvili: http://www.saatchiart.com/vkezeras
  12. Renee Khatami: http://www.reneekhatami.com/
  13. Anki King: http://www.ankiking.com/
  14. Evan Kitson: http://evankitson.com/
  15. Olivia Korringa: http://oliviakorringaart.wordpress.com/2
  16. Sassoon Kosian: http://www.sassoonkosian.com
  17. Hilary McCarthy: http://www.hilarymccarthyart.com/
  18. Yoko Komori Olson: http://yokokomoriolson.com/
  19. Laurie Peek: http://www.lauriepeek.com/
  20. Krystyna Printup: http://www.krystynaprintup.com
  21. Lauren Amalia Redding: http://www.laurenredding.com
  22. Stephanie Reiter: http://www.stephaniereiter.com/
  23. Nadine Renazile: http://nadinerenazile.com/
  24. Steven Tracy Ross: http://www.steventracyross.com/
  25. Elizabeth Rundquist: http://www.elizabethrundquist.com/
  26. Hiba Schahbaz: http://www.hibaschahbaz.com/
  27. Edward Schmidt: http://studioschmidt.com/
  28. Rachel Lulov Segall: http://www.rachellulovsegall.com
  29. Ekaterina Smirnova: http://www.ekaterina-smirnova.com/
  30. Lynn Stein: http://lynnstein.org/art/
  31. Fortuna Szpiro: http://www.fortunaszpiro.com/
  32. Cheryl Wheat: http://cherylwheat.com/index.html
  33. Andrea Williams: http://artdria.com/home.html
  34. Ekaterina Vanovskaya: http://www.vanovskaya.com/
  35. Rachel Van Wylen: http://www.rachelvanwylen.com/
  36. Rockland Coaches: http://www.coachusa.com/rockland/ss.commuter.asp
  37. vytlacil@artstudentsleague.org: mailto:vytlacil@artstudentsleague.org